skip navigation


Kaukauna Takes Home Third Straight Team Wrestling State Title

Kaukauna took home its third consecutive WIAA Division 1 state team wrestling championship and seventh overall with a 41-26 victory over Marshfield in the title match on March 4 in Madison.

The Ghosts got pins from Lucas Peters at 126 pounds, Bryan Winans at 132 pounds and Drew Wendzicki at 195 pounds. Kaukauna added technical falls from Greyson Clark at 138 pounds and Liam Crook at 170 pounds. The match was tied at 26-26 before Crook’s technical fall at 170 was the first of three straight Kaukauna wins to finish the victory.

Kaukauna advanced to the finals with a 67-6 win over Waukesha West in the quarterfinals and a 72-4 rout of Muskego in the semifinals. The Ghosts finished the season 14-0 in dual matches.

Kaukauna also won four straight team titles from 2014-17. Overall, it was Kaukauna’s 28th state title in nine different sports with 15 of those coming since 2013-14.

Kaukauna Galloping Ghosts - 2022-23 FVA Wrestling Champion

Wrestling Point Standings

The FVA wrestling champion is decided by a combination of dual meet and conference meet results. Each team receives 1.5 points for a dual meet victory and 1 point for each position finished at the conference meet (10 for first, 9 for second, 1 for 10th).

School Dual Points Conf. Meet Pts. Total Points
Kaukauna 13.5 10 23.5
Hortonvile 12 9 21
Neenah 10.5 8 18.5
Kimbely 9 7 16
Appleton North 7.5 6 13.5
Oshkosh Wesrt 6 5 11
Appleton West 3 4 7
Oshkosh North 3 3 6
Fond du Lac 3 1 4
Appleton East 0 2 2