skip navigation

Natalie Johnston, Appleton North

FVA Spotlight: Natalie Johnston, Appleton North Volleyball

Name: Natalie Johnston 

School: Appleton North

Year in School: Senior

Sports: Volleyball

Other school clubs/activities: Student Council, Link Crew, Key Club, NHS, FCA, Track team, Bowling team 

Parents’ names: Daniel and Kirsten 

Siblings’ names: Kyle, Kelsey, Patrick, Rachel, Liz, Samantha 

Favorite aspect of your school: The school spirit, I love how excited we get for events and being part of the student section and cheering for my classmates is so much fun. 

If you have been involved in community service projects, which has been most rewarding and why? The Special Olympics Track Meet has been one of the most impactful volunteering opportunities I have been blessed to be a part of. I got to be a timer and talking to the athletes after their race is so rewarding and has made me appreciate all the opportunities in my life. 

What is your favorite class? Adventure Ed 

Who is your favorite teacher? Mr. Kane 

What is the best advice one of your coaches has given you? Get comfortable being uncomfortable. This is the best advice because not only is it applicable to sports but to daily life. You will never be able to grow or learn if you don’t have the ability to step out if your comfort zone. 

Favorite youth coach: Tommy Moriarty 

Favorite place to play on the road in the FVA? Neenah 

Favorite athlete to compete against in the FVA: Lexi Schlafman. Neenah 

Favorite memory from being involved in co-curricular activities is…: The team bonding and hotel stays this year for volleyball. We have had a few tournaments where we have had to stay overnight and spending time with my team is my favorite thing. 

Favorite professional team: Milwaukee Brewers 

Favorite professional athlete: Christian Yelich (I’m not a bandwagon, I liked him first - just check the Brewers retweets from 2018)

College or post-high school plans: I plan on attending the University of Central Florida to row. 

What is your desired major/career field? I plan on majoring in Psychology and minoring in Criminal Justice. 

Something people would be surprised to know about me is…: I used to ride horses…

What is at the top of your “bucket list?” Sky dive. But I want to learn how to do it myself so I’m not strapped to another person. 

What is your dream job? Special Agent for the FBI

Favorite person to follow on Social Media: My friends, I don’t follow any celebrities 

When I have a weekend off of sports, you can usually find me... Doing anything outside with my friends, I love swimming in the summer and skiing in the winter. 

A non-athletic talent I have is…: Learning song lyrics, my friends say I know every word to every song, especially the raps. I can’t sing well for the life of me but at least I know the words.