skip navigation

Katie Hoeffner, Appleton North

FVA Spotlight: Katie Hoeffner, Appleton North Volleyball

Name: Katie Hoeffner

School: Appleton North

Year in School: Senior

Sports: Volleyball

Other school clubs/activities: Key Peers and Link Crew

Parents’ names: Mark and Rosie Hoeffner

Siblings’ names: Nathan "Buddy" Hoeffner

Favorite aspect of your school: My favorite aspect of Appleton North is the family and friendly atmosphere that it offers. It really makes me feel like going to North is something special.

If you have been involved in community service projects, which has been most rewarding and why? Every year, all levels of the Appleton North girls volleyball team volunteers with Special Olympics at a bowling event. It is rewarding because I see how special it is to the participants when I cheer or congratulate them. I really love to see the smiles and happiness that I can bring to someone when I volunteer.

What is your favorite class? Sociology

Who is your favorite teacher? Mr. David Meixl

What is the best advice one of your coaches has given you? Don't be afraid to fail or make mistakes, use them as a lesson.

Favorite youth coach: Coach Amber Gratz

Favorite place to play on the road in the FVA? Appleton West

Favorite athlete to compete against in the FVA: Taylor Surprise, Kimberly High School

Favorite memory from being involved in co-curricular activities is…: Making it to the state tournament in 2015 and 2016.

Favorite professional team: Green Bay Packers

Favorite professional athlete: Reggie Miller (I am a big Indiana Pacers fan)

College or post-high school plans: Attend a 4 year college.

What is your desired major/career field? Psychology and Education

Something people would be surprised to know about me is…: I am exactly 50% Mexican!

What is at the top of your “bucket list?” Visit where my mom grew up in Mexico.

What is your dream job? A high school teacher.

Favorite person to follow on Social Media: Kari Brekke and the Appleton North AD Nate Werner!

When I have a weekend off of sports, you can usually find me... Hanging with friends or spending time with my family.

A non-athletic talent I have is…: I can walk on my hands!