skip navigation

Emma Leib, Oshkosh North

FVA Spotlight: Emma Leib, Oshkosh North Basketball, Softball, Volleyball

Name: Emma Leib

School: Oshkosh North

Year in School: Senior

Sports: Basketball, Softball, Volleyball

Other school clubs/activities: I am involved in quiteI, am currently the president of Link Crew, a freshman transition program. Other activities are Polaris National Honor's Society, Student Council, PRIDE team, and Super fans

Parents’ names: Susie and Rick Leib

Siblings’ names: Sammie, Allie, Josh, and Ben Leib

Favorite aspect of your school: My favorite aspect of North is a program I have been involved in since my freshman year. This program is called Communities. Communities is a project-based learning class where I we use our 21st century skills to try and make a difference in our community on a local, national, and global level. Some of my favorite memories that I have had in high school have been because of this program. 

If you have been involved in community service projects, which has been most rewarding and why? Recently, I took part in a 9/11 service day which was through Communities. This day revolved around the main idea of turning a day of tragedy into a day of good. Me and 60 other of my classmates went out into the community and helped out with various things. My group in particular went to a low income housing authority and we pulled weeds, planted flowers, and trimmed overgrown bushes. 

What is your favorite class? Sociology

Who is your favorite teacher? Mrs. Gauthier

What is the best advice one of your coaches has given you? Never be satisfied with where you are at, not just in sports but also in school, life, your future career, etc. 

Favorite youth coach: 10u & 12u softball coaches - Kim and Brian Gauthier 

Favorite place to play on the road in the FVA? Oshkosh West

Favorite athlete to compete against in the FVA: Emily La Chapell - Appleton East

Favorite memory from being involved in co-curricular activities is…: Winning state last year for softball

Favorite professional team: Milwaukee Bucks

Favorite professional athlete: Mike Trout 

College or post-high school plans: Attend college somewhere

What is your desired major/career field? Nursing

Something people would be surprised to know about me is…: There are 5 kids in my family. I have two older brothers and two younger sisters. 

What is at the top of your “bucket list?” Go on an African Safari

What is your dream job? Even though it technically isn't a job, I would love to get paid to travel the world. 

Favorite person to follow on Social Media: Christian Yelich

When I have a weekend off of sports, you can usually find me... Hanging out with my family or friends

A non-athletic talent I have is…: I have played the piano since 4th grade.